Physical Fitness

There is no doubt that the chances of surviving a SHTF situation goes up dramatically the better physical shape a person is in.  Unfortunately a great majority of Americans get winded while walking to the end of the driveway to get the mail.  Any cataclysmic event that would force those very same people to cover a couple miles on foot could have very undesirable results.

To combat a sedimentary lifestyle and for the purpose of survivability, over-all well being and just plain “feeling good”, we recommend a very customizable work out program called “Convict Conditioning”.  ( http://convict-conditioning.com/ ) .  The program utilizes “old school calisthenics” via body weight training.  The author “Paul Wade” goes into the science behind starting out slow and strengthening tendons.

Here’s a picture of the results of “old school” calisthenics:

calisthenics

I can personally attest to the fact that no matter who you are, you can take this body weight training to the level of difficulty that you desire.  The beginning levels are so easy that most frail people could perform the exercises, BUT, it’s important to start at that point and not skip to the higher levels (which Paul goes into the reasoning behind this), as injury could be a result.

It’s taken some time, but I am about 3/4 through some of the more difficult work outs.  My goal is to perform one handed hand stand push-up some day.  Even so, as of right now, the power strength I’ve gained from this program, my back, chest, legs, arms and abs, is better than any other program I was working with.

Also I was really impressed that I could do most of these workouts in just 15 minutes or less a day.  As I’m always on the go, this is a kind of program I’ve needed for a long time.  I’ve been at convict conditioning for about 1 year, and I’m very impressed with the results.

What I’m even more impressed with is that ANYONE can do these workouts and progress to the level of difficulty they are satisfied with.

b411

In the mean-time, if you’re looking some STELLAR preparedness reading, check out www.defensivetraininggroup.wordpress.com .

Leave a Reply

