Camouflage

Thesis:  There are bunches of civilian men in the concealed carry world trying to look like SF operators or “tactical timmy”.  From the weekend range warriors to the guy behind the gun counter at the local shop.

 

The link and subsequent re-blog below when applied to the armed citizen might give some food for thought in regard to concepts of camouflage.  Who knows, those concepts might become more and more valuable as time goes on.

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/how-travel-grey-ed-digger-thompson

Kidnap Ransom Consultant at Ronin USA

How to avoid looking like the obvious security contractor  when traveling and why it’s important.

Perhaps it is my innate curiosity or, for many years now I was been employed to be highly observant – or more than likely I am just a nosy bastard by nature. Probably it is the latter and not the former. Cops can spot other cops a mile away. It’s been that way forever probably.

I can also tell you that I can spot fellow operators and security contractors in much the same way. Many of you who are reading this right now are saying “yeah, you’re right, so can I”. We like to think it is a special talent that allows us to recognize a fellow snake eater.

There is some truth to that, but for the most part we are a fairly observant bunch and there are certain visual cues that we give off that inadvertently reveal who we are to one another and unfortunately to others with less than desirable motives.

For the last couple of years, I have been a Kidnap Ransom and Extraction contractor who travels quite extensively by the requisites of my job. Now, having been around the globe a few times, I have found myself sitting in various airports, and hotels where I can sit and partake in one of my favorite pastimes, people watching.

Now, the places that I find myself in are typically places where the native folks have less than a stellar view of my home country and in particular, my industry Security Contracting. Part of the reason why I do this is simply OPSEC. People-watching is a great way to get a feel for the place.

As a bi-product it answers tactical questions that I am subconsciously thinking about : “Is it safe to be here?”, “What are the natural rhythms and schedules of the place?”

Who belongs, who doesn’t and the like.

READ the rest of the article by clicking on the link below . . . 

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/how-travel-grey-ed-digger-thompson

One thought on “Camouflage

Leave a Reply

